Fake Orkut Site Stealing Google Passwords?

Users logging onto Orkut need to beware, as there seems to be a new phishing scheme aimed at stealing Google passwords to your account.

The carbon copy which goes by ork0t.com (with a zero replacing the "u") seems to be owned by a mysterious person from New Jersey according to whois.net. I did a reverse phone number lookup of this person, but apparently they have listed little info about their true identity.

Users who have Google Toolbar (with Firefox) installed should receive this warning below, notifying them of this copycat.

pic

Users who accidentally log into this site should notify Google as well as change your password to all Google services. (Note: Compromised accounts should not affect users Ad Sense publisher accounts if one does not hold a gmail account with Google).

(Hat Tip: IT Digest, Software And Tools, Digital Inspiration)

About the author: Darnell Clayton is a Financial Services Professional who helps families and clients save money for their retirement accounts instead of Uncle Sam's wallet.

Previously he was in the Information Technology field, which helped him acquire his "geek-like" powers.

He currently blogs at Inside Orkut detailing what goes on inside Google's community forums.


~admin


5 Responses to “Fake Orkut Site Stealing Google Passwords?”

  1. Credit secrets bible commented on :

    Great info on the google toolbar!!

  2. MNAU said on :

    THANXX..ALOT

  3. ayush thought on :

    thanksssss

  4. renne martins replied on :

    i forgot my password

  5. siddarth replied on :

    i want to hack someone’s id hw it will be hacked

Leave a Reply